Auxetics 2006

4-6 September 2006, University of Exeter, Devon, UK





(incorporating the 3rd International Workshop on Auxetics and Related Systems, and the 3rd annual AuxetNet Young Researchers Forum)

Building on the success of the two previous conferences organised by Prof K Wojciechowski, the aims of this conference are threefold

- to explore the fundamental concepts underlying anomalous material properties (including auxetic behaviour, negative thermal expansivity, negative stiffness)
- to explore the theoretical and experimental methods used in their analysis
- to explore their application

Topics will include

- fundamental physics and mechanisms
- molecular and other modelling techniques
- experimental methods
- heterogeneity issues
- auxetic/NTE chemistry
- auxetic/NTE applications

Plenary speakers

Ken Evans (U of Exeter) Roderic Lakes (U of Wisconsin) Krzysztof Wojciechowski (Polish Academy of Sciences) Anselm Griffin (Georgia Tech) Ray Baughman (U of Texas, Dallas) Art Sleight (U of Oregon State) Curt Koenders (U of Kingston)

Invited speakers

More than 20 invited speakers will attend including: Massimo Ruzzene (Georgia Tech) Richard Walton (Open Univ) Gaoyuan Wei (Peking Univ) Andy Alderson (Bolton Univ) Kim Alderson (Bolton Univ) Fabrizio Scarpa (Bristol Univ) Joe Grima (U of Malta) Steve Moratti (U of Cambridge) Hajime Kimizuka (Japan Res Inst, Tokyo) David Heyes (U of Surrey) Larry Peel (U of Texas A&M) Nigel Mills (U of Birmingham) John House (Qinetiq) KhurramWadee (U of Exeter) John Evans (U of Durham)

Scientific Committee

Prof Ken Evans (Chair), Dr Chris Smith, Prof Rod Lakes, Prof Krzysztof Wojciechowski, Prof Andy Alderson, Dr Kim Alderson, Dr Fabrizio Scarpa, Dr Joseph Grima, Prof Anselm Griffin.

Abstract submission deadline: 30 June 2006

There will be a small registration fee and some support for young researchers; details to follow shortly.



Further information including key dates, costs and contact information can be found at **www.exeter.ac.uk/auxetics2006**

Sponsored by

EPSRC Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council